More books! More!

I have embarked on this social reading challenge.  Challenge is the right word. The book (The Quincunx – Charles Palliser) is about 1200 words long. It’s described as a Dickensian mystery set in early 19th century England. It has been way too long since I’ve read something that I can get stuck right into so I am looking forward to it. I guess I feel both quite excited and a little daunted so reading with other people should help. I hope.

I would never have read this book had it not been suggested for this project. This is a good thing.

Since writing this blog post I realise I have no idea what the title means! Went to the OED and couldn’t remember my Athens log in password (idiot) so Wikipedia it is:

A quincunx is a geometric pattern consisting of five points arranged in a cross, that is five coplanar points, four of them forming a square or rectangle and a fifth at its center. It forms the arrangement of five units in the pattern corresponding to the five-spot on six-sided dice, playing cards, or dominoes.

Ahhhh!

Well, we’ll see how long I last. I have to say that I managed to read the first 3 chapters yesterday and it I’m already highly intrigued.

Comments welcome

