Book 31: The Stainless Steel Rat (Harry Harrison)

And all of a sudden a lot of things make so much more sense.

This is obviously the book which spurned a generation of SF/comedy. I am totally looking forward to reading the others in the series (when I have enough Das Geld to Amazon them – unless someone wants to send me them for free? Anyone?). The only (very, very minor) problem I had was that I was not only a step ahead of the game as the author intended, I’m sure, but two because the story is so recognisable. That made absolutely no difference to my enjoyment of the book. And nor did all the spelling mistakes, in fact they added to the enjoyment because it reminded me that this was one of the first.

I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone who may not have read the thing yet. After all,  I lasted until the grand old age of 28 without an inkling! I just wish I’d read this when I was younger!

8/10 – One and only time I will ever agree with the Daily Telegraph – “The Monty Python of the spaceways” (cover quote)

 

 

Comments welcome

