Book 23: Mister Pip (Lloyd Jones)

This is the sort of book you read for GCSE English and analyse.  I think what I am trying to say is this book is all too deliberately thought-provoking. That said, I enjoyed reading it, I think. It felt like a drop in the ocean of several people’s lives. I suppose I did feel a little confused through most of it, like I was missing something. A bit like On Beauty (Smith) really.

I googled the book and yes, it is used as a GCSE text-book. Personally, I believe reading Great Expectations (Jones uses that book as a plot device) would be a better choice of text-book.

4/10 – deliberately thought-provoking, felt a bit uneasy through most of it but it was a good story.

2 comments on “Book 23: Mister Pip (Lloyd Jones)

Comments welcome

