Book 21: Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons (Lorna Landvik)

So, the next set of two books are New York Times Bestsellers.

I enjoyed this one. Not un-put-down-able enjoyed but I really liked the characterisation, the plot and the structure. I’d describe it as a cross between Desperate Housewives & Sex and The City with a touch of Will and Grace. It’s a book club which, initially, consists of five women neighbours and follows their lives through forty years. For a book that spans forty years it’s pretty scant but it works and that’s the main thing. I like that it’s occasionally very obviously American but not overly so. I think it’s about strength; strength that comes from friendships and the strength that is inherently within all women. I liked that too. It also got better towards the end.

Finally, I am ashamed to say that I haven’t read ANY of the book club books mentioned in it. I started to write them down but then gave it up as a lost cause. Hemingway, I must read more Hemingway.

8/10 – enjoyable, real, would like to read a sequel.

Comments welcome

