Book 10: One Day (David Nicholls)

I hate this book.

Yeah, yeah, so it’s an excellently written and executed story. The characters are engaging, almost turning in to real life friends, as you follow them through the ups and downs of 20 years of post-graduation life and hope that it all works out for them in the end. The few pages of Emma (the female protagonist) at 27 almost mirror my life right now, which was a revelation. It was only until after I Wikipedia’d it that I realised that every chapter was based on the same day of the year – St Swithin’s Day (15th July) – which is significant within the story. And, yeah, it’s worth all the accolades that have been bestowed upon it and probably more.

But I hate this book.

You know why I hate this book? Because it made me bawl with tears towards the end and I am so fed up of reading books that make me cry.

Begrudgingly – 10/10 – everyone should read this book.

One comment on “Book 10: One Day (David Nicholls)

  1. P.S. I have never Googled/Wikipedia’d a book before. This is how much I was interested in the evolution of this book. Apparently, it was a film too. I want to see the film. Obviously, I will take tissues.

Comments welcome

