Book Number 1: The History of Love (Nicole Krauss)

First of all, I do not want to know what the time is (it is too early in the morning for those that have Proper Jobs – that I know!). Secondly, and more to the point, one of my projects this year is to make sure I read more. So, I’ve made a resolution to read 52 books in 2012 – one a week. It’s a fair rate of exchange considering I have a full-time job, an MSc dissertation to complete and also to attempt to hold up some form of social and family life.

Book 1 is The History of Love by Nicole Krauss (and I am sort of cheating because I did read a few chapters before Christmas and put it down in favour of Medieval murder mysteries). It’s not a book I’d pick up for myself but it was inadvertently recommended to me by another random author on Twitter (not me directly but to the Tworld at large) and I thought I’d give it a go. I’m glad I did because it’s a very good book; touching, smoothly written and composed. It also has a heartbreaking ending which has had me in tears and is the reason I am now still awake at The Witching Hour.

I’m not going to promise proper book reviews, but I think I’ll do marks out of 10 (presumably, this system is flawed from the start as I won’t read books that I don’t think are going to have a decent rating, but still…):

7/10 – would recommend to all those with a sense of romance.

Comments welcome

