Zeitgeist Zwei

Hallo!

Also, hier! Sorry, there. Basically, using that link you can vote for the top 10 science fiction books of all time from a list compiled by “an expert panel”*. I have perused said list and chosen my 10. That is 10 out of the actual 14** (FOURTEEN! It’s worse than I ever thought!) that I have read. I’m not sure I can call myself an SF fan anymore. Quick, to the Library! 

Having written the above, some of my favourite SF books are not even on the list. And some  of the books on the list which I have read, I’m afraid, I didn’t really rate (all 4 of them…!)***.

So, I voted for these:

  • American Gods – Neil Gaiman (Good book.)
  • Brave New World – Aldus Huxley (Seriously, this book screwed with my head. It was amazing.)
  • Going Postal – Terry Pratchett (Lack of choice but wanted to vote for ALL TP. Not my favourite Pratchett.)
  • Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy – Douglas Adams (Favourite funny SF. Only funny SF?)
  • Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell – Susanna Clarke (I really loved that book.)
  • Lord of the Rings Trilogy – Tolkien (Not sure if I would have voted for these if I had more choice.)
  • Small Gods – Terry Pratchett (Again, not my favourite but he’s a brilliant writer. Also strictly, to me, TP = fantasy.)
  • The Time Machine – H G Wells (My favourite Wells, so happy to put a tick in that box.)
  • War of the Worlds – H G Wells (Again, probably my second favourite Wells.)
  • 1984 – George Orwell (Another book that twisted my thoughts inside out. Awesome.)

Which have you voted for?

Bis bald!

~L~

* A bit like the Sorting Hat in Harry Potter only less malleable.

** I didn’t count the books that I will never read because the films have destroyed them for me. There must be 5 or 6.

*** The four books that I have read but didn’t vote for were:

  • Animal Farm – George Orwell (Studied at school and didn’t ever see as SF.)
  • Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman (Purely because I prefered American Gods.)
  • Anansi Boys – Neil Gaiman (Bit too much of a kid’s book for me.)
  • The Foundation Trilogy – Issac Asimov (That is the one book – series – I just didn’t rate.)
Comments welcome

